Modules change. New files are added, and old files disappear. Still, you want to be able to retrieve an exact copy of old releases of the module.
Here is what you can do to remove a file from a module, but remain able to retrieve old revisions:
updatecommand. If you remove the file without committing your changes, you will of course not be able to retrieve the file as it was immediately before you deleted it.
When you commit the removal of the file, CVS
records the fact that the file no longer exists. It is
possible for a file to exist on only some branches and
not on others, or to re-add another file with the same
name later. CVS will correctly create or not create
the file, based on the `-r' and `-D' options
-lR] files ...
Schedule file(s) to be removed from the repository (files which have not already been removed from the working directory are not processed). This command does not actually remove the file from the repository until you commit the removal. The `-R' option (the default) specifies that it will recurse into subdirectories; `-l' specifies that it will not.
Here is an example of removing several files:
$ cd test $ rm ?.c $ cvs remove cvs remove: Removing . cvs remove: scheduling a.c for removal cvs remove: scheduling b.c for removal cvs remove: use 'cvs commit' to remove these files permanently $ cvs ci -m "Removed unneeded files" cvs commit: Examining . cvs commit: Committing .
If you change your mind you can easily resurrect the
file before you commit it, using the
$ ls CVS ja.h oj.c $ rm oj.c $ cvs remove oj.c cvs remove: scheduling oj.c for removal cvs remove: use 'cvs commit' to remove this file permanently $ cvs add oj.c U oj.c cvs add: oj.c, version 220.127.116.11, resurrected
If you realize your mistake before you run the
remove command you can use
resurrect the file:
$ rm oj.c $ cvs update oj.c cvs update: warning: oj.c was lost U oj.c
When you remove a file it is added only on the branch which you are working on (see section Branches). You can later merge the additions to another branch if you want (see section Merging can add or remove files).
Go to the first, previous, next, last section, table of contents.